Back to All Events

WEBINAR: “FEMA Promising Practices: Fire Preparedness and Post-Disaster Accessibility Issues in the Home”

This webinar will have two presentations that look at preparedness and accessibility issues in the home. The first is Home Fire Safety Solutions for People with Disabilities, and the second covers concerns for accessibility and universal design that complement the needs of populations that age in place. The series will address all audiences that play a role in promoting accessibility through the lens of design, from the client to the architect to the local jurisdiction.

PRESENTERS:

Milissa Gofourth is a Program Manager of Oklahoma ABLE Tech and advocates and promotes public policy that will enable individuals with all types of disabilities of all ages to access and acquire assistive technology.

Nancy J. Trench is recognized nationally as a leader in fire and life safety education. Mrs. Trench is the Assistant Director for Research for Fire Protection Publications, the publisher of IFSTA training materials, and is an expert in the design, implementation and evaluation of fire and life safety education programs, including programs for young children and people with disabilities.

Brian Baer is a licensed architect with 0 years of experience implementing sustainable, community-aided design solutions for educational, cultural, civic and non-governmental agency projects across the United States. Mr. Baer is a licensed architect in several states and is a LEED accredited professional (awarded by the U.S. Green Building Council) and certified by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB).

 

Webinars begin at 2:30 PM ET / 1:30 PM CT / 12:30 PM MT / 11:30 AM PT 

Registration: Free online at www.adapresentations.org/registration.php

Earlier Event: August 18
Sandy Recovery through Education Forum
Later Event: January 31
Sandy Recovery through Education Forum